The Grenfell Historical Society invites expressions of interest from businesses/individuals who may be interested in operating a tour boat enterprise from the Grenfell dock for the 2015 tourist season. The dock includes access to parking, electricity, washroom facilities and office space/ticket booth. The facility is adjacent to the Grenfell Interpretation Centre which provides a built in marketability option for a tourism venture.
For further details and a list of specifications please contact:
Grenfell Historical Society
P. O. Box 93
St. Anthony, NL A0K 4S0
Phone: (709) 454-4010
Posted: March 16, 2015 9:48 am NFLD time
Grenfell Interpretation Centre
Experience the spectacular legacy of Dr. Wilfred Grenfell, featuring many exhibits.
Grenfell House Museum
Explore the historic home of Dr. Grenfell & his family. A truly amazing journey into the past.
Grenfell Handicrafts Store
Browse an extensive selection of handicrafts & souvenirs. Many items locally produced.
Hike the Tea House Hill Trail
One of Dr. Grenfell's favourite activies. The trail offers you spectacular scenery & beauty.
Grenfell Park & Dock Facility
The dock services yachts and acts as a drop-off point for tourists. A great place to relax.
Ever wonder how Sir Wilfred Grenfell's harrowing tale of survival in northern Newfoundland would translate into comic book form?
Wonder no longer - the good doctor already made his debut in Issue #10 of True Comics (1941).
True Comics was begun in 1941 to 'counteract the wild, rowdy superhero comics' according to comics historian Ron Goulart (The Comic Book Reader's Companion, HarperPerennial, 1993). The editors were David Marke, a historian, and later Elliot Caplin, a prolific comics writer.
True Comics, it could be said, sparked a small genre of non-fiction newsstand comics.
The original book "Adrift on an Ice Pan" by Wilfred Thomason Grenfell, was first published in 1909 by Houghton Mifflin Company.